copa america 10 facts

The Copa America 2020 will be the 47th time that this tournament has been held. It is one of the biggest football tournaments in South America and always offers plenty of excitement for football fans (and for those of you who love betting on the outcome of the many matches). In this article, we will take a look at the top 10 interesting facts that we know (for a fact) about the Copa America 2020. If you are crazy about South American football and want to have a little bit of skin in the game, then Playingthebooks is a great site that comes highly recommended and which offers some great odds for the upcoming Copa America tournament.

If you want to know more about the background of the South American football scene, then this Brazilian soccer site for betting is sure to offer you plenty of great insights to get started with. Brazil is always poised as a potential winner as they have win 9 titles in total in the tournament throughout the years – with the latest tournament victory in 2019! It always pays off to know the local football scene before you start placing your bets.

Top 10 facts we already know

  1. For the first time since 1983, the tournament will be hosted by more than one country.
  2. The tournament will be held in Colombia and in Argentina and take place between the 12th of June and the 12th of July 2020.
  3. From now on the tournament will be held every 4 years and has changed from odd years to even years with the next tournament scheduled for 2024 with Ecuador as the host country.
  4. 12 teams will participate in the Copa America 2020 tournament. Originally 16 countries were proposed to participate, with 6 of them being invitees from outside of the region. This proposal was later redrawn.
  5. The tournament will be held in 9 host cities in Argentina and Colombia.
  6. The following countries will participate in the Copa America 2020 – Argentina (co-hosts), Colombia (co-hosts), Australia (invited) Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar (invited), Uruguay, Venezuela
  7. Qatar made its debut in the tournament in 2019 and was the very first Arab nation to participate in this South American tournament. Qatar is also on the roster for 2020!
  8. The Copa America 2020 will be the first tournament without any teams present from the North American region since 1993 – which has traditionally been Mexico.
  9. As the tournament reaches the knockout stage, the top four teams of each of the groups will advance to the quarter-finals.
  10. Australia is making its debut in the Copa America in 2020 and has been invited as winners of the AFC Asian Cup.

What else would you like to know? What did you find most interesting? We love hearing from our readers, so do not hesitate to reach out to us and let us know how you feel!

18+ BeGambleAware


Did you like this article?

Yes No

How can we improve it?


We appreciate your helpul feedback!

Your answer will be used to improve our content. The more feedback you give us, the better our articles can be.

Follow us on social media:

Facebook Pinterest
Spread the love